osCommerce My Account  Cart Contents  Checkout  
  Top » Catalog » Shop By Country » United States » AML-CD-30ar My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
Box Sets (3)
Limited Quantites
Shop By Country-> (1008)
  Belgium (11)
  British Isles (139)
  Canada (43)
  France (56)
  Germany (17)
  Holland & Scandanavia (52)
  Italy (127)
  Japan & Asia (24)
  Misc. Artists - Other Countries (41)
  South America (39)
  Spain (8)
  Switzerland (23)
  United States (428)
Shop By Label-> (235)
Special Categories-> (26)
Used CDs (22)
Quicklist by Artist
What's New? more

The Clay People
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Contact Us
Aethellis "Aethellis"
Aethellis "Aethellis"

This CD is by film composer and classical pianist Ellsworth Hall from Timonium, MD. Since receiving a degree in piano performance and film/video production Ellsworth has remained busy scoring music and soundtracks for films, video productions and video games. Since 1976 he has also performed in a series of progressive rock groups (including Tailwind, Sabre and Logos Affinity) as keyboardist and vocalist. He performed all the instruments & vocals on the Aethellis disc and also wrote all of the songs. Musically this is very much in the vein of mid-80s Camel, Alan Parsons' best work or maybe a bit of Kayak. Very tuneful and melodic but with an eye on the prog scene as well. The songs are well-recorded and pleasant to listen to but also have prog sections that would have been right at home on Camel's "Stationary Traveller" or Tony Banks' "A Curious Feeling". Lots of fine piano work & the occassional Banks-like synth lead dominate the keyboard arrangements. The vocals are very pleasing recalling those on many of the Alan Parsons albums or perhaps the singing on the first two Ambrosia albums. He is in the process of recording a second album with a full band which will only serve the music better I should think. This is one of those albums that I was tempted to dismiss on first listening as being too 'pop' or too 'superficial' to be taken seriously. After 2 or 3 listenings the layers started to emerge and the true beauty of the music started to become obvious! This will certainly appeal to those who like some lighter prog records/artists like those mentioned in this review. If you like that sort of thing, then this is a really good one! We look forward to his next.

This product was added to our catalog on Thursday 03 July, 2008.
Customers who bought this product also purchased
Jeremy "Pilgrim's Journey"
Jeremy "Pilgrim's Journey"
Glass Hammer "On To Evermore"
Glass Hammer "On To Evermore"
Glass Hammer "Perelandra"
Glass Hammer "Perelandra"
Cryptic Vision "Moments of Clarity"
Cryptic Vision "Moments of Clarity"
Jeremy "Celestial City"
Jeremy "Celestial City"
Glass Hammer "Journey of the Dunadan"
Glass Hammer "Journey of the Dunadan"
Shopping Cart more
1 x Present "A Great Inhumane Adventure"
2 x Blue Sky
1 x 3 Distances / Irregular Signs
1 x Acron
1 x Atoll "L'Ocean"
1 x Deyss "Vision in the Dark"
1 x Biglione, Victor "Trilhas"
1 x Amarok "Sol De Medianoche"
1 x Elysium "Fogdays"
1 x TZGIV "More Light"
1 x Circus "Movin' On"
1 x Miguel Rios "La Huerta Atomica"
1 x Epidaurus "Endangered"
1 x Pour l'Amour des Chiens
1 x Shattering Blow
1 x Ain Soph "Quicksand"
1 x Addison Project "Mood Swings"
1 x Guru Guru "Live"
1 x Finnegans Wake "Blue"
2 x Sailor Free "The Fifth Door"
1 x The Clay People
1 x Akineton Retard "Akranania"
1 x Spock's Beard/Neal Morse "Testimony"
1 x Acqua Fragile "Acqua Fragile"
1 x The Nice "The Immediate Years" [box set]
1 x Frohmader, Peter "Macrocosm"
1 x Alkemy "Da 63 Projekt"
1 x Ange "Au dela du Delire"
1 x Chance Encounters in the Garden of Lights, Disc Two
1 x Amygdala "Complex Combat"
1 x Cromwell "Burning Banners"
1 x Licht Prakash Light
2 x Aquarius Age
1 x 0.720 Aleacion "0.720 Aleacion"
1 x Abel Ganz "Shooting Albatross"
1 x anything else but the truth
1 x Pollos d'Granja
1 x Anti-Depressive Delivery "Feel Melt Release Escape"
1 x Carrion, Alfredo "Alfredo Carrion"
2 x Entre Chien et Loup
1 x 3rDegree "Narrow-Caster"
1 x Abel Ganz "The Dangers of Strangers"
1 x Lumina Project
1 x Nosso Lar
1 x Capharnaum "Le Soleil est une Bombe Atomique"
1 x Aysar Capys "The Sikilos Epitaph EP"
1 x Ut Gret "Recent Fossils"
1 x 3rDegree "Human Interest Story"
1 x Aelian "The Watcher"
1 x Elemental
1 x Amygdala "Amygdala"
1 x Galadriel "Chasing the Dragonfly"
1 x Metaphor "Entertaining Thanatos"
1 x Boris Savoldelli. Elliot Sharp "Protoplasmic"
1 x Glass Hammer "The Inconsolable Secret"
About this artist
Other products
Notifications more
NotificationsNotify me of updates to Aethellis "Aethellis"
Tell A Friend
Tell someone you know about this product.
Reviews more
Write ReviewWrite a review on this product!

Copyright © 2003 osCommerce
Powered by osCommerce